The Most Memorable Day of my College Career…

…and it was all thanks to Louisiana Delta Service Corps.

This past Friday, I had the opportunity to travel with Betsy (LDSC executive director) and Caitlin Barry (the videographer) to meet with some current service corps members, as well as see what types of projects they are devoted to.  It was a life-changing experience.

As much as I hate to admit it, I get caught up in my own hectic schedule quite often.  I will get so swallowed up in what is all on my plate that I sometimes forget what my purpose is.  The past couple of weeks, I’ve considered Louisiana Delta Service Corps more of a task than a gift.  The trials of the campaign, along with my other school work had me not really dedicated to the organization, rather I was just dedicated to getting it done.

That all changed when I visited Langston Elementary, the Broadmoor Community, and Greenlight NOLA.

Our first stop was to the Edible Garden at Langston.  Sam (pictured above) is currently serving Langston Elementary through LDSC.  I automatically noticed his leadership skills with his students.  He told me about how the students are able to learn through the garden.  You can check out his blog here.

Our second stop was to the Broadmoor neighborhood.  It was very eye-opening.  Broadmoor was under eight feet of water after Katrina.  The purpose of this organization is to help rebuild the homes ruined by the hurricane so that members of the community can move back home.  I met Milo at this organization.  He explained that LDSC was a great opportunity because he was given so much responsibility right at the beginning.

Our last stop was at Green Light NOLA.   This may be one of the most innovative non-profits I’ve ever heard of.  Green Light NOLA is an organization that will go to people’s houses and replace the lightbulbs in the fixtures with energy efficient bulbs.  They said the process takes about half an hour, during which they explain to homeowners ways they can be more energy efficient.

While all in all this was just a way cool trip, I consider it my most memorable because of the lesson I learned.  As I mentioned earlier, my head had not been in the right place.  As a public relations professional, I will be representing a person or groups of people who are all passionate about something.  I can relate and feel more a part of LDSC because I was able to see what they were doing first hand.  I now realize the importance of getting out there with my client so I can relate to what they’re doing.  I know this experience will better suit me in representing LDSC.

That being said, the big event is this Monday at St. Alban’s Church.  It starts at 7 PM.  I know our team is excited to execute the project we’ve been working so hard on!  We were also FINALLY able to get LDSC’s facebook and twitter pages up and running.  Be sure to check it out.

Until next time.

-Elaina

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “The Most Memorable Day of my College Career…

  1. […] got to spend a memorable day helping film several of the host sites in New Orleans. Check out her blog for more details on that […]

Leave a Reply

